ISMM 2017

The International Symposium on Mathematical Morphology (ISMM) has established itself as the main scientific event in the field. We will be delighted to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the foundation of the Center for Mathematical Morphology (CMM) and connect it with the second and third generations of worldwide mathematical morphology researchers by hosting the 13th International Symposium on Mathematical Morphology (ISMM’2017) at the CMM, in the campus of MINES ParisTech, in Fontainebleau. The goal of the conference is to bring together researchers, students, and practitioners of mathematical morphology and related methodologies, to present and discuss new advances in the field, be they purely theoretical developments or novel applications, where real life imaging problems can be tackled with morphological tools.

Proceedings will be published in Springer's Lecture Notes in Computer Science series.

Main topics of interest include (but are not limited to)

  • Algebraic Theory:

    Morphology on complete lattices and semilattices, Representation of morphological operators, Fuzzy morphology, Connected operators, Morphology on graphs, Morphology on Surface Meshes and Riemannian manifolds.
  • Nonlinear Scale Space Theory:

    Morphological decompositions, Morphological PDEs, Level set methods, Morphological wavelets, Morphological regularization.
  • Discrete Geometry and Combinatorial Topology:

    Grids, discrete objects, discrete model properties, digitization schemes, metrics and distance transformation, skeletons, discrete tomography, etc.
  • Random sets Theory and Geometrical Probability:

    Boolean model for sets and functions, Stochastic simulation of random media, etc.
  • (max,+) Mathematics and Idempotent Analysis for Image and Signal Processing.

  • Image Filtering:

    Color and multi-channel morphology, Morphology on tensor fields, Geodesic transformations, Adaptive morphology, Attribute filtering.
  • Image Segmentation:

    Watershed segmentation, Hierarchical segmentation, Color and multi-channel image segmentation, Texture segmentation, Clustering of spatial data.
  • Computational Mathematical Morphology:

    Algorithms, Architectures, Data structures and programming paradigms for efficient implementation of morphological operators.
  • Applications:

    Geosciences and remote sensing, Biomedical imaging, Materials science, Data analysis, Document processing, Content-based information retrieval, Video surveillance, Industrial control, Visualization, etc.

Important Dates

Submission deadline: December 16th 2016 January 12th 2017 (Extended)
Notification of acceptance: February 21th 2017
Camera ready paper: March 7th 2017
Conference: May 15th-17th 2017


Organizing Committee

General Chair, program chair:   Jesús Angulo (MINES ParisTech, France)
Program Co-Chair:   Fernand Meyer (MINES ParisTech, France)
Program Co-Chair:   Santiago Velasco-Forero (MINES ParisTech, France)
Local Organisation Chair:   Michel Bilodeau (MINES ParisTech, France)
Local Organisation Co-Chair:   Beatriz Marcotegui (MINES ParisTech, France)
Local Organisation Assistant:   Anne-Marie de Castro (MINES ParisTech, France)
DGCI Liaison & Advisory:   Gunilla Borgefors, (Uppsala University, Sweden)

Steering Committee

Jesús Angulo (Mines ParisTech, France)
Junior Barrera (University of Sao Paulo, Brazil)
Jón Atli Benediktsson (University of Iceland)
Isabelle Bloch (Telecom ParisTech, France)
Gunilla Borgefors (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Jocelyn Chanussot (Grenoble Institute of Technology, France)
Renato Keshet (Hewlett Packard Laboratories, Israel)
Ron Kimmel (Technion–Israel Institute of Technology, Israel)
Cris Luengo Hendricks (Flagship Biosciences Inc., Westminster, Colorado, USA)
Petros Maragos (National Technical University of Athens, Greece)
Laurent Najman (Université Paris-Est ESIEE, France)
Christian Ronse (University of Strasbourg, France)
Philippe Salembier (Polytechnic University of Catalonia, Spain)
Dan Schonfeld (University of Illinois at Chicago, USA)
Pierre Soille (European Commission, Joint Research Centre, Italy)
Hugues Talbot (Université Paris-Est ESIEE, France)
Michael H.F. Wilkinson (University of Groningen, Netherlans)

Program Committee

Akira Asano (Kansai University, Japan) Junior Barrera (Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil)
Isabelle Bloch (Telecom ParisTech, France) Michael Buckley (CSIRO, Australia)
Bhabatosh Chanda (Indian Statistical Institute , India) David Coeurjolly (CNRS-LIRIS, France)
Jose Crespo (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain) Johan Debayle (MINES Saint-Etienne, France)
Petr Dokladal (MINES ParisTech, France) Adrian Evans (University of Bath, United Kingdom)
Marcin Iwanowski (Warsaw University of Technology, Poland) Dominique Jeulin (MINES ParisTech, France)
Christer Kiselman (Uppsala University, Sweden) Anders Landstrom (Luleå University of Technology, Sweden)
Roberto Lotufo (UNICAMP, Brazil) Petros Maragos (National Technical University of Athens, Greece)
Juliette Mattioli (Thales, France) Fernand Meyer (MINES ParisTech, France)
Valery Naranjo (Universidad Politécncia de Valencia, Spain) Nicolas Passat (Université de Reims Champagne-Ardenne, France)
Wilfried Philips (Ghent university, Belgium) Christian Ronse (Université de Strasbourg, France)
Gabriella Sanniti Di Baja (ICAR-CNR, Italy) Jean Serra (Université Paris-Est, France)
Natasa Sladoje (Uppsala University, Sweden) Robin Strand (Uppsala University, Sweden)
Ivan Ramon Terol-Villalobos (CIDETEQ S.C., Mexico) Marc Van Droogenbroeck (University of Liège, Belgium)
Rafael Verdu-Monedero (Technical University of Cartagena, Spain) Michael H.F. Wilkinson (University of Groningen, Netherlans)
Akira Asano (Kansai University, Japan) Jon Atli Benediktsson (University of Iceland, Iceland)
Gunilla Borgefors (Uppsala University, Sweden) Bernhard Burgeth (Universität des Saarlandes, Germany)
Jocelyn Chanussot (Grenoble Institute of Technology, France) Jean Cousty (Université Paris-Est, ESIEE, France)
Vladimir Curic (Imint Vidhance, Sweden) Etienne Decenciere (MINES ParisTech, France)
Abderrahim Elmoataz (University of Caen Normandy, France) Thierry Geraud (EPITA, France)
Andrei Jalba (Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands) Ron Kimmel (Computer Science Department, Technion, Israel)
Corinne Lagorre (Université Paris-Est Créteil, France) Sébastien Lefèvre (Université de Bretagne Sud, France)
Cris L. Luengo Hendriks (Flagship Biosciences, USA) Beatriz Marcotegui (MINES ParisTech, France)
Petr Matula (Masaryk University, Czech Republic) Laurent Najman (Université Paris-Est, ESIEE, France)
Georgios Ouzounis (DigitalGlobe Inc., USA) Benjamin Perret (Université Paris-Est, ESIEE, France)
Jos Roerdink (University of Groningen, Netherlans) Philippe Salembier (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain)
Katja Schladitz (Fraunhofer ITWM, Germany) B. S. Daya Sagar (Indian Statistical Institute, India)
Pierre Soille (EC Joint Research Centre, Italy) Hugues Talbot (Université Paris-Est, ESIEE, France)
Matthew Thurley (Luleå University of Technology, Sweden) Santiago Velasco-Forero (MINES ParisTech, France)
Martin Welk (UMIT, Austria) Jasper van de Gronde (University of Groningen, Netherlans)

Plenary Speakers

Paper submission

Technical Program

Information for presenters


ISMM 2017 will be held at MINES ParisTech Campus in Fontainebleau, France on May 15- 17, 2017.