Description

Context and positioning of the project

Retinal diseases are the principal causes of low vision and can lead to total blindness. The early detection and diagnosis of these diseases can help to heal them, or slow or limit the damage. This implies that systematic detection means of these diseases are developed.

Due to the decreasing number of ophthalmologists, solutions via telemedicine networks, such as OPHDIAT network led by AP-HP, a project partner, are being implemented.

In order to prevent the ophtalmologists from being snowed under unrelevant files (i.e. without any disease), the project partners intend to develop algorithms for an automatic processing of digital color fundus images. These algorithms, integrated in the ophthalmic telemedicine networks, will implement a classification in images that do not require any expert opinion and images that require a notice, which will include pathological images and unanalyzable images for developed algorithms. The information about the detected diseases will also be transmitted.

Objectives

The main objective of this program, through the response to a public health problem, is to develop a multidisciplinary research in automatic image processing, pooling two scientific concepts: data mining and digital image processing. The expected result is a method combining both approaches, powerful enough to avoid a significant percentage of images from being read by specialists.

Data mining will be generated from the images and text data presented in a large database provided by the partner AP-HP, from the images collected in OPHDIAT network.OPHDIAT base consists of photographs and records of diabetic patients who participate in a program to detect diabetic retinopathy using telemedicine. The aim will be to determine the "signature" of images/folder in order to decide if the files being reviewed should be sent to specialists or not. This work will include, when they are available, the specific image processing results for the detection of diabetic retinopathy lesions, as well as the information about a possible presence of glaucoma. Improving existing methods of image processing, the search for new methods, is essential for success, considering the vast heterogeneity of image acquisition source.

Digital image processing has two objectives: firstly to extract quantitative information about the lesions related to diabetic retinopathy, to determine the disc optic and look for characteristics indicative of a risk of glaucoma, secondly to study the global descriptors of the qualified images which will help or simplify the images classification, in addition to the determination of local parameters for diabetic retinopathy and glaucoma. This set of descriptors will constitute the digital signature of images. This signature will be integrated in the data mining algorithms that will develop the final decision procedures.

Technically, the developed algorithms will be implemented on OPHDIAT server, in order to carry out an minimum preliminary evaluation, and to prepare a clinical assessment protocol for further evaluation, which is not in the framework of this project.

Description

Contexte et positionnement du projet

Les pathologies rétiniennes sont les principales causes de malvoyance pouvant conduire à la cécité totale. La détection et le diagnostic précoces de ces pathologies peuvent permettre de les guérir, ou d'en ralentir, voire limiter, les effets. Ceci suppose la mise en place de moyens de dépistage systématique de ces pathologies.

Du fait de la diminution du nombre d'ophtalmologistes, des solutions via des réseaux de télémédecine, tel que le réseau OPHDIAT piloté par l'AP-HP, partenaire du projet, commencent à se mettre en place.

Pour éviter de faire examiner par des ophtalmologistes des dossiers ne présentant pas de pathologies, les partenaires du projet se proposent de développer des algorithmes de traitement automatique des images numériques en couleur du fond d'œil. Ces algorithmes, intégrables dans des réseaux de télémédecine ophtalmologiques, effectueront un classement en images ne nécessitant pas l'avis de spécialistes et images nécessitant un avis, qui comprendront les images pathologiques et les images non analysables par les algorithmes développés. Des informations concernant la ou les pathologies détectées seront également transmises.

Objectifs

L'objectif principal de ce programme, à travers la réponse à un problème de santé publique, est de développer une recherche multidisciplinaire en traitement automatique des images, mutualisant deux concepts scientifiques : la fouille de données et le traitement numérique des images. Le résultat attendu est une méthode réunissant les deux approches, suffisamment performante pour qu'un pourcentage non négligeable de clichés ne soit pas envoyé pour la lecture par des spécialistes.

La fouille de données se fera à partir des images et des données textuelles présentes dans une importante base de données, fournie par le partenaire AP-HP, à partir des images collectées dans le réseau OPHDIAT. La base OPHDIAT est constituée de clichés et de dossiers de patients diabétiques participant à un programme de dépistage de la rétinopathie diabétique par télémédecine. L'objectif sera de déterminer les « signatures » d'images/dossier permettant de déterminer si les dossiers, en cours d'examen, doivent être ou non transmis aux spécialistes. Ce travail intègrera, quand ils seront disponibles, les résultats des traitements spécifiques des images pour la détection des lésions de la rétinopathie diabétique, ainsi que l'information sur la présence éventuelle d'un glaucome. Le travail sur l'amélioration des méthodes existantes de traitement d'images, la recherche de nouvelles méthodes prenant en compte la très grande hétérogénéité des sources d'acquisition des images est un élément essentiel pour la réussite du projet.

Le traitement numérique des images aura deux objectifs : d'une part extraire des informations quantitatives sur les lésions liées à la rétinopathie diabétique, déterminer la papille et chercher des caractéristiques révélatrices d'un risque de glaucome, d'autre part étudier des descripteurs globaux des images aptes à permettre ou faciliter la classification des images, en complément de la détermination de paramètres locaux relatifs à la rétinopathie diabétique et au glaucome. Cet ensemble de descripteurs constituera la signature numérique des images. Cette signature sera intégrée dans les algorithmes de fouille de données qui permettront de mettre au point les procédures finales de décision.

Au niveau technique, il s'agira d'implémenter, sur le serveur OPHDIAT, les algorithmes développés, de manière à en faire une évaluation minimale préliminaire, et à préparer un protocole d'évaluation clinique pour une évaluation ultérieure, qui n'entre pas dans le cadre du projet.